We get a lot of questions from CMS users about why content they’ve edited hasn’t gone live, even though it’s been hours or days. We put the below together to help.

TerminalFour page content blocks have four possible Statuses:

  • Approved – Live and visible to the world the next time the website publishes.
  • Draft – Content that’s still being added / updated. The most updated version is visible in T4 Preview, but not on the public website. Essentially the same as “Pending” status.
  • Pending – Content that’s still being added / updated. The most updated version of this content is visible in T4 Preview, but not on the public website. Essentially the same as “Draft” status.
  • Inactive – Old content that is no longer needed and ready for deletion. Not visible in T4 Preview or on the public website.

An example of all four possible T4 content statuses: "Approved," "Pending," "Draft" and "Inactive"

The above statuses will never change on their own, and need to be manually changed from one to another. For example, if you leave a content block set as “Pending”, it will never automatically switch to “Approved”. After changing a content block’s status, it will typically be reflected on the live website after 20-30 minutes.

Changing a Status

To change a content block to Approved, Draft or Pending status, you first need to edit the content block and scroll to the bottom where you’ll see the blue “Save changes” button on the right-hand side with a downward arrow next to it.

  • To set the content block to “Pending”, simply click the “Save changes” button.
  • To set the content block to “Approved”, click the downward arrow next to the button and select “Save and approve” from the menu.
  • To set the content block to “Draft”, click the downward arrow next to the button and select “Save as draft” from the menu.
  • To set the content block to “Inactive”, click the red “Delete” button on the bottom-left.

Set the status of the content using the "Save changes" and "Delete" buttons

Alternatively, you can also set something to “Inactive” when viewing the “Content” tab of the given page, clicking the “Actions” dropdown menu to the right of the content in question, and selecting “Delete” at the bottom of the list of options.

Use the "Delete" option from the "Actions" dropdown menu to mark a content block "Inactive"

We hope you found this tutorial helpful! Feel free to contact us with any questions or concerns.