The MarComm Advisory Committee advises the SVP of MarComm and university leadership on strategic university-wide initiatives managed by LMU’s MarComm Division, spanning its core competencies of marketing, communications and public relations, creative and design, external relations and partnerships, and related matters. The committee advocates for the marketing and communications needs and goals of university stakeholders and serves an essential role in fostering a free exchange of ideas and solutions that integrate with the university’s strategic goals, diversity and inclusion principles, mission, and values. The committee advances an integrated and unified university brand that maximizes the university’s external visibility, elevates the university’s reputation, and positions the university optimally.


The committee’s responsibilities may shift in response to institutional priorities and include:

  • serving as a sounding board for MarComm’s senior leaders and provisioning feedback and advice on major initiatives and proposals;
  • reviewing and recommending strategies that promote LMU boldly in a competitive and dynamically changing marketplace;
  • building community consensus and promoting effective communication and collaboration in planning and implementing initiatives;
  • advising on how to best align efforts, key performance indicators, and outcomes with the university’s strategic interests and priorities.


  • John Kiralla, Chair, Senior Vice President for Marketing, Communications, and External Relations
  • Ashley Armstrong, Athletic Representative
  • Gipson Bachman, GSLMU President / Representative
  • Katherine Brown ’10, M.A. ’16, Mission and Ministry Representative
  • Lisa Jackson, Staff Senate President / Representative
  • Kester Kyrie ’89, Alumni Association Representative
  • Andrea Niemi, Student Affairs Representative
  • Nona Pittman, ASLMU Representative
  • Salvador Rivas, University Advancement Representative
  • Jannell Roberts ’92, LMU Loyola Law School Representative
  • Matt Stefl, Faculty Representative from CBA Marketing
  • Maureen Weatherall, Enrollment Management Representative
  • Ariane White, Ed.D. ’19, DEI Representative
  • Leon Wiebers, Faculty Senate President / Representative
  • Michelle Young, Dean Representative

MarComm Resources

  • John Axtell, Associate Vice President for Communications
  • Katie Jones, Director of Brand Management
  • Maureen Pacino, Interim Associate Vice President for Marketing and Brand Management
  • Marianna Villa, Associate Vice President for External Relations